Did you miss me?

Explaining myself

Well, where do I start? After 9 months of silence, my blog returns in a new look and on a different website. What happened? Where the fudge have I been? I’m gonna try and shine some light into my mysterious disappearance.

When I first started blogging on Tumblr, I was unemployed. I guess that already explains a lot, but let me continue with my justification. I don’t want to ramble too much though, so I’ll try to make it short.

I’m the type of guy that needs to be productive in order to be happy. A day without any result or any sort of progress feels empty and wasted to me. That’s one reason why I love coding. And that’s also one of the reasons why I created my blog. But when you’re unemployed, you have so much time that it actually becomes a burden at some point. You get lazy, you start slacking. “Yea, I could do this and that right now… or I could do it in an hour. What’s the difference anyway? I got like millions of those.”

stewieGun

I tried to sort of counter that by not only pursuing my hobbies, but writing about them. That way I was able to fill the huge amount of free time I had at hand a bit better and also actually had proof that this time had not been wasted. Plus, since I always wanted to become a software developer, I thought this was the best possible way to invest my time. At some point, however, it had overcome me. Anyone who knows me personally can confirm that I was going through some tough times back then. I don’t want to go into too much detail here, but let’s just say, updating my blog was not my top-priority in life during that time.

And blah blah blah, yada yada yada, here we are now. Currently, I’m getting trained to become a certified software developer. Less than two years from now I will have a super fancy certificate that proves my coding and software designing abilities. The training is going pretty well. Actually, it could hardly be any better. My grades are on point and I actually get kinda bored evey now and then, because most of the stuff they teach I already know. But unfortunately, in Germany you can have skills as sick as cancer but still won’t get a job because you don’t have some certificate to prove your “haxX0r Sk1llZzZ”. Well, whatever. I’m making a good investment into my future as a developer and for boring moments I always have my laptop with me so I can work on my programming projects.

Speaking of programming projects…

What’s next?

A few weeks ago during said training I started working on a little game just to keep myself busy. At first, I didn’t even know what kind of game I wanted to make. I wanted to keep it really simple and small because I originally intended to only ever work on it every now and then between classes and stuff. Also, my possibilites were kinda limited because I didn’t have a laptop back then. So I only had a portable C# IDE (SharpDevelop, check it out, it’s pretty cool) on a freaking flash drive to work with. I couldn’t use a powerful framework such as MonoGame as I usually would. So I ended up using a C# binding of SFML.

Here’s some material of what that looked like:

Click image to enlarge.

A couple hours into the development of this little project, someone suggested I create a tutorial on game development, and that is how this came to be:

 

I don’t know when I will find the time to continue this series, though. It’s fun, but it’s also very time consuming considering all the editing and other stuff that needs to be done to end up with a halfway decent video. We’ll see about that.

Shortly after that video was made, I got myself a new laptop. That meant no more restrictions when programming on the go. And so I decided to switch to MonoGame. Porting what I had already coded to MonoGame was not a big effort at all. However, I came to the conclusion that I should first build myself a little framework (on top of MonoGame) that is designed particularly for my intentions. So the plan is now to get a basic structure, a simple engine done for future game projects of similarly small scope. And that’s exactly what I’m gonna be working on and blogging about from now on.

I present to you:

himalayaEngineLogo384px

I started this project about two weeks ago and there’s already some code you can check out on GitHub:

Yetibyte.Himalaya on GitHub

And that’s it for now. I stayed up all night. I’m tired. It’s 9 in the morning already. My English is starting to get bad. Stop I will now. You guys later I will see. Buh-buh!

 

 

Leave a Reply

